Oscar Winners Persevere in Unique Year
April 26, 2021

Oscar Winners Persevere in Unique Year

Well, it has been one crazy awards season. Films were halted during production, finished by people working from home, rescheduled for release (often multiple times), and many released via streaming services or PVOD at a time when theater doors closed. 
During such an unpredictable year, the Academy had to pivot, too, altering some of its eligibility rules, and then shifting the dates, even the one for the industry’s biggest night, the Academy Awards. Even this star-studded event had a very different look and feel this year as COVID protocols continue.

Nevertheless, the excitement and honor felt by those who received an Oscar were not diminished. In fact, they should be applauded for the additional efforts put forth in their crafts during an especially difficult time when facing many hurdles. Kudos to them and all the nominees for their perseverance.

In the Animated Feature category, Disney•Pixar’s Soul proved, well, that it indeed has soul, with its win over a very competitive field. As for visual effects, Tenet came up big as well.

So, without further adieu, here are the winners from the 93rd Academy Awards.

Best Picture
"Nomadland" — Winner
"The Father"
"Judas and the Black Messiah"
"Promising Young Woman"
"Sound of Metal"
"The Trial of the Chicago 7"

Best Director
Chloé Zhao, "Nomadland" — Winner
Thomas Vinterberg, "Another Round"
David Fincher, "Mank"
Lee Isaac Chung, "Minari"
Emerald Fennell, "Promising Young Woman"

Actress in a Leading Role
Frances McDormand, "Nomadland" — Winner
Viola Davis, "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
Andra Day, "The United States vs. Billie Holiday"
Vanessa Kirby, "Pieces of a Woman"
Carey Mulligan, "Promising Young Woman"

Actor in a Leading Role
Anthony Hopkins, "The Father" — Winner
Riz Ahmed, "Sound of Metal"
Chadwick Boseman, "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
Gary Oldman, "Mank"
Steven Yeun, "Minari"

Actress in a Supporting Role
Yuh-jung Youn, "Minari" — Winner
Maria Bakalova, "Borat Subsequent Moviefilm"
Glenn Close, "Hillbilly Elegy"
Olivia Colman, "The Father"
Amanda Seyfried, "Mank"

Actor in a Supporting Role
Daniel Kaluuya, "Judas and the Black Messiah" — Winner
Sacha Baron Cohen, "The Trial of the Chicago 7"
Leslie Odom Jr., "One Night in Miami…"
Paul Raci, "Sound of Metal"
LaKeith Stanfield, "Judas and the Black Messiah"

Original Song
"Fight For You" from "Judas and the Black Messiah" — Winner
"Hear My Voice" from "The Trial of the Chicago 7"
"Husavik" from "Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga"
"lo Sì (Seen)" from "The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti a Se)"
"Speak Now" from "One Night in Miami..."

Animated Feature Film
"Soul" — Winner
"Over the Moon"
"A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon"

Makeup and Hairstyling
"Ma Rainey's Black Bottom" — Winner
"Hillbilly Elegy"

Visual Effects
"Tenet" — Winner
"Love and Monsters"
"The Midnight Sky"
"The One and Only Ivan"

"Mank" — Winner
"Judas and the Black Messiah"
"News of the World"
"The Trial of the Chicago 7"

Film Editing
"Sound of Metal" — Winner
"The Father"
"Promising Young Woman"
"The Trial of the Chicago 7"

Production Design
"Mank" — Winner
"The Father"
"Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
"News of the World"

"Sound of Metal" — Winner
"News of the World"

International Feature Film
Denmark, "Another Round" — Winner
Hong Kong, "Better Days" 
Romania, "Collective"
Tunisia, "The Man Who Sold His Skin"
Bosnia and Herzegovina, "Quo Vadis, Aida?"

Documentary Short Subject
"Colette" — Winner
"A Concerto Is a Conversation"
"Do Not Split"
"Hunger Ward"
"A Love Song for Latasha"

Documentary Feature
"My Octopus Teacher" — Winner
"Crip Camp"
"The Mole Agent"

Live Action Short Film
"Two Distant Strangers" — Winner
"Feeling Through"
"The Letter Room"
"The Present"
"White Eye"

Animated Short Film
"If Anything Happens I Love You" — Winner
"Genius Loci"

Original Screenplay
Emerald Fennell, "Promising Young Woman" — Winner
Screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King; story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas, "Judas and the Black Messiah"
Lee Isaac Chung, "Minari"
Screenplay by Darius Marder and Abraham Marder; story by Darius Marder and Derek Cianfrance, "Sound of Metal"
Aaron Sorkin, "The Trial of the Chicago 7"

Adapted Screenplay
Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller, "The Father" — Winner
Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern; story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer and Nina Pedrad, "Borat Subsequent Moviefilm"
Chloé Zhao, "Nomadland"
Kemp Powers, "One Night in Miami…"
Ramin Bahrani, "The White Tiger"

Original Score
"Soul" — Winner
"Da 5 Bloods"
"News of the World"

Costume Design
"Ma Rainey's Black Bottom" — Winner