Motion Picture Sound Editors Elects New Board
February 2, 2021

Motion Picture Sound Editors Elects New Board

STUDIO CITY, CA – The Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) has elected Steve Urban to a two-year term as Vice President, succeeding Bernard Weiser. Additionally, Jeremy Gordon was reelected as Treasurer and Christopher Reeves as Sergeant-at-Arms in the organization’s annual Board elections. They join Mark A. Lanza, who continues in the role of President, as board officers.

Newly-elected as Board members at large are Peter Albrechtsen, Amber Funk, Scott Jennings and Charles Maynes. Re-elected board members include Miguel Araujo, David Barber, Daniel Blanck, Perry La Marca, Paulette Victor-Lifton and Garrett Montgomery.

Steve Urban is a Supervising Sound Editor based as Sony Pictures Entertainment. His credits include Madame Secretary, Scandal, and How to Get Away with Murder. He won a Golden Reel Award for his work on The Duel.

Jeremy Gordon is a Supervising Sound Editor with Atomic Post Sound, where his credits include The Magicians, The Leftovers, and Resurrection. He is a two-time Emmy Award nominee for Smallville and Party of Five) and a three-time Golden Reel Award nominee.

Christopher Reeves is a Supervising Sound Editor based at NBC/Universal. He is a nine-time Emmy Award nominee, with two wins for his work on The X Files. His recent credits include Superstore and Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

Despite the pandemic, MPSE expanded its outreach in 2020. It conducted nine virtual “Sound Advice” webinars focusing on sound work on such projects as Mr. Robot and Better Call Saul and highlighting new technologies. It also launched a quarterly publication for members titled Wavelength. The organization’s signature event, the 68th Annual Golden Reel Awards, will be held for as a virtual event April 18th with participants from around the globe.