Denis Villeneuve to Receive AIS Honor
December 22, 2021

Denis Villeneuve to Receive AIS Honor

Los Angeles — The Advanced Imaging Society has announced that Academy Award-nominated French-Canadian director, producer and writer Denis Villeneuve will be presented with its annual Harold Lloyd Award for filmmaking. 
The director, producer and co-writer of Warner Bros. Pictures’ highly acclaimed film adaptation of Frank Herbert’s science fiction novel, Dune, will be honored during the Society’s 12th annual awards ceremony February 1, 2022 at Warner Bros. Studios.

In addition to Dune, which has garnered critical acclaim as well as having massive success at the worldwide box office, Villeneuve directed  Arrival, for which he was nominated for an Oscar for Best Director. His other films include:  Incendies, Prisoners, Sicario, and  Blade Runner 2049.  

The Harold Lloyd Lumiere Award is presented annually, in partnership with the Harold Lloyd family, for distinguished achievement in filmmaking to directors who have marshaled technology to empower their storytelling.   “In his more than 200 films, Harold Lloyd was passionate about using his creative teams and the latest technology to empower his storytelling in the service of entertaining his millions of fans,” said Suzanne Lloyd, Chairman of Harold Lloyd Entertainment. “He was a cheerleader for the groundbreaking directors and creatives who followed him. I know Harold would simply be thrilled that Denis Villeneuve is our 2022 recipient,” she added.  

“Denis Villeneuve’s Dune was a priceless reminder this year that nothing replaces the magic of seeing a magnificent movie on a great cinema screen,” said AIS president Jim Chabin. “His mastery in summoning the very best from artists and technologies during an incredibly challenging time has resulted in a truly awe-inspiring work, which thrilled millions of fans worldwide,” he added.  

Previous recipients of The Harold Lloyd Lumiere Award include Martin Scorsese, Ang Lee, Jon Favreau, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Victoria Alonso, James Cameron, James Mangold and others. T

The Lumiere Awards have been presented over the last decade to the industry’s most respected creative and technical leaders. In addition to awards for motion pictures, episodic and new media content, the society this year will bestow awards for best musical motion picture, best musical scene or performance, and best immersive audio.