Nominees Announced For 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards
January 9, 2020

Nominees Announced For 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards

LOS ANGELES – The Producers Guild of America (PGA) recently announced the Motion Pictures and Television nominees for its 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards. Winners in these categories will be announced at the PGA awards ceremony on January 18th at the Hollywood Palladium. 

The  2020 Producers Guild Awards nominations are listed below in alphabetical order by category, along with eligible producers’ names:
The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
- 1917
Producers: Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne‐Ann Tenggren, Callum McDougall
- Ford v Ferrari
Producers: Peter Chernin & Jenno Topping, James Mangold
- The Irishman
Producers: Jane Rosenthal & Robert De Niro, Emma Tillinger Koskoff & Martin Scorsese
- Jojo Rabbit
Producers: Carthew Neal, Taika Waititi
- Joker
Producers: Todd Phillips & Bradley Cooper, Emma Tillinger Koskoff
- Knives Out
Producers: Rian Johnson, Ram Bergman
- Little Women
Producer: Amy Pascal
- Marriage Story
Producers: Noah Baumbach, David Heyman
- Once Upon a Time in… Hollywood
Producers: David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh, Quentin Tarantino
- Parasite
Producers: Kwak Sin Ae, Bong Joon Ho
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
- Abominable
Producer: Suzanne Buirgy
- Frozen II
Producer: Peter Del Vecho
- How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Producers: Bradford Lewis, Bonnie Arnold
- Missing Link
Producers: Arianne Sutner, Travis Knight
- Toy Story 4
Producers: Mark Nielsen, Jonas Rivera
The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Drama
- Big Little Lies (Season 2)
Producers: David E. Kelley, Jean‐Marc Vallée, Andrea Arnold, Reese Witherspoon, Bruna Papandrea, Nicole Kidman, Per Saari, Gregg Fienberg, Nathan Ross, David Auge, Lauren Neustadter, Liane Moriarty
- The Crown (Season 3)
Producers: Peter Morgan, Suzanne Mackie, Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Benjamin Caron, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert Fox, Michael Casey, Andy Stebbing, Martin Harrison, Oona O Beirn
- Game of Thrones (Season 8)
Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Carolyn Strauss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, David Nutter, Miguel Sapochnik, Bryan Cogman, Chris Newman, Greg Spence, Lisa McAtackney, Duncan Muggoch
- Succession (Season 2)
Producers: Jesse Armstrong, Adam McKay, Frank Rich, Kevin Messick, Mark Mylod, Jane Tranter, Tony Roche, Scott Ferguson, Jon Brown, Georgia Pritchett, Will Tracy, Jonathan Glatzer, Dara Schnapper, Gabrielle Mahon
- Watchmen (Season 1)
Producers: TBD
The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Comedy
- Barry (Season 2)
Producers: Alec Berg, Bill Hader, Aida Rodgers, Liz Sarnoff, Emily Heller, Julie Camino, Jason Kim
- Fleabag (Season 2)
Producers: Phoebe Waller‐Bridge, Harry Bradbeer, Lydia Hampson, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, Joe Lewis, Sarah Hammond
- The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Season 3)
Producers: Amy Sherman‐Palladino, Daniel Palladino, Dhana Gilbert, Daniel Goldfarb, Kate Fodor, Sono Patel, Matthew Shapiro
- Schitt’s Creek (Season 5)
Producers: Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, David West Read, Ben Feigin, Michael Short, Rupinder Gill, Colin Brunton
- Veep (Season 7)
Producers: David Mandel, Frank Rich, Julia Louis‐Dreyfus, Lew Morton, Morgan Sackett, Peter Huyck, Alex Gregory, Jennifer Crittenden, Gabrielle Allan, Billy Kimball, Rachel Axler, Ted Cohen, Ian Maxtone‐Graham, Dan O'Keefe, Steve Hely, David Hyman, Georgia Pritchett, Erik Kenward, Dan Mintz, Doug Smith
The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television
- Chernobyl
Producers: Craig Mazin, Carolyn Strauss, Jane Featherstone, Johan Renck, Chris Fry, Sanne Wohlenberg
- Fosse/Verdon
Producers: Thomas Kail, Steven Levenson, Lin‐Manuel Miranda, Joel Fields, George Stelzner, Sam Rockwell, Michelle Williams, Tracey Scott Wilson, Charlotte Stoudt, Nicole Fosse, Erica Kay, Kate Sullivan, Brad Carpenter
- True Detective
Producers:  TBD
- Unbelievable
Producers:  TBD
- When They See Us
Producers: Jeff Skoll, Jonathan King, Jane Rosenthal, Robert De Niro, Berry Welsh, Oprah Winfrey, Ava DuVernay, Amy Kaufman, Robin Swicord
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures
- American Son
Producers:  TBD
- Apollo: Missions to the Moon
Producers:  TBD
- Black Mirror: Striking Vipers
Producers:  TBD
- Deadwood: The Movie
Producers: David Milch, Carolyn Strauss, Gregg Fienberg, Scott Stephens, Daniel Minahan, Ian McShane, Timothy Olyphant, Regina Corrado, Nichole Beattie, Mark Tobey
- El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
Producers:  TBD
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
- 30 for 30 (Season 10)
Producers: TBD
- 60 Minutes (Season 51, Season 52)
Producers: TBD
- Leaving Neverland
Producers: TBD
- Queer Eye (Season 3, Season 4)
Producers: David Collins, Michael Williams, Rob Eric, Jennifer Lane, Jordana Hochman, Rachelle Mendez, Mark Bracero
- Surviving R. Kelly (Season 1)
Producers:  TBD
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television
- The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Season 25)
Producers:  TBD
- Dave Chappelle: Sticks & Stones
Producers:  TBD
- Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 6)
Producers:  TBD
- The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 5)
Producers:  TBD
- Saturday Night Live (Season 45)
Producers:  TBD
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television
- The Amazing Race (Season 31)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo, Phil Keoghan
- The Masked Singer (Season 1)
Producers: TBD
- RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 11)
Producers: TBD
- Top Chef (Season 16)
Producers: Dan Cutforth, Jane Lipsitz, Doneen Arquines, Casey Kriley, Tara Siener, Justin Rae Barnes, Blake Davis, Patrick Schmedeman, Wade Sheeler, Tom Colicchio, Padma Lakshmi, Elida Carbajal Araiza, Brian Fowler, Caitlin Rademaekers, Steve Lichtenstein, Emily Van Bergen
- The Voice (Season 16, Season 17)
Producers: John de Mol, Mark Burnett, Audrey Morrissey, Stijn Bakkers, Amanda Zucker, Kyra Thompson, Teddy Valenti, Kyley Tucker, Carson Daly
The Producers Guild Awards are often a bellwether for the Oscars. Since its inception, the PGA has predicted 21 of the 30 winners of the Academy Award for Best Picture. At the Producers Guild Awards ceremony this month, the Guild will present special honors to powerhouse producers and leaders who have left their indelible mark on the entertainment industry. The 2020 honorees include Ted Sarandos (Milestone Award); Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner of Plan B (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures); Marta Kauffman (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television); Octavia Spencer (Visionary Award); and the Lionsgate film Bombshell (The Stanley Kramer Award).

Additionally, the winner of the Innovation Award and the winner in the Short-Form category will be announced at a PGA nominees event on January 16th at the Hollywood Museum in Los Angeles. The winners in the Children’s and Sports categories will be announced at a nominees celebration in New York on January 13th at the Ascent Lounge.