New Mexico Film & TV Hall Of Fame Announces Honorees
January 4, 2018

New Mexico Film & TV Hall Of Fame Announces Honorees

SANTA FE, MN - The New Mexico Film & TV Hall of Fame will honor those who have helped build the New Mexico film and television industry, along with the industry's rising stars, at its inaugural banquet and awards ceremony on February 11th. The event will be held at the Santa Fe Community Convention Center (
The gala will be a highlight of Santa Fe's first annual Film Week — a celebration of everything film, television, and multimedia related — which will take place February 6th through the 12th. Events during Film Week will include: the Santa Fe Film Festival, classes and seminars through the film union-sponsored Film Industry Tune Up program, the New Mexico Film Office's Film & Media Education Summit, New Mexico Girls Make Movies, the annual Film & TV Day at the Capitol, and the New Mexico Film & TV Hall of Fame Awards dinner.

The initial group of Hall of Fame inductees and honorees were chosen by film professionals based on one simple criterion: that each has made a significant contribution to New Mexico film and television.

Those included are:

- Thomas Edison, in recognition of the first film shot in New Mexico 120 years ago at the Isleta Pueblo, "Indian Day School."
- The New Mexico Film Office (formerly the New Mexico Film Commission), will be celebrating its 50th anniversary since its founding in 1968 by Governor Dave Cargo, as the first film office in the country. The award will feature original Film Commission member Max Evans and the current head of the New Mexico Film Office, Nick Maniatis.
- "The Milagro Bean Field War" on its 30th anniversary, featuring director Robert Redford, author John Nichols, and composer Dave Grusin.
- "Breaking Bad" on its 10th anniversary, with the cast and crew, including Stewart Lyons, the producer who worked on the entire series.
- "Bless Me, Ultima" on its fifth anniversary, recognizing iconic author Rudolfo Anaya.
- Imogene Hughes, the first lady of New Mexico film and the doyenne of Bonanza Creek Ranch.
- New Mexico screenwriter, philanthropist, and icon George R. R. Martin.

Rising Star Honorees will include director and screenwriter Hannah McPherson, cinematographer Conci Althouse, actress Morning Star Angeline, and director and screenwriter Joshua Oppenheimer.

To be honored In Memoriam will be projectionist Ross Krantz, cinematographer Lexie Shabel, location manager Alan Swain, and construction coordinator Chip Radaelli.

The banquet and awards ceremony will be held in the Santa Fe Community Convention Center and will feature cast and crew from the shows and films as well as other notable guests and history-makers of the New Mexico film industry.