Ringling College Announces Trustee Scholar Awards Recipients
November 7, 2016

Ringling College Announces Trustee Scholar Awards Recipients

SARASOTA, FL — Ringling College of Art and Design (www.ringling.edu) held its 22nd Annual Trustee Scholar Awards recently, honoring 13 stand-out students in each academic major as well as Student Life. This year’s awards theme highlights the work of Ringling College students, graduates, faculty, staff and supporters and their ongoing efforts in establishing the region as a ‘Capitol of Creativity’ by consistently pushing the envelope of creative innovation and pursuit of work with value, brilliance, and originality.
“Trustee Scholar is the highest collegiate honor awarded by the Ringling College Board of Trustees,” says Ringling College president, Dr. Larry R. Thompson. “Trustee Scholar’s exemplify the originality, talent and work ethic required for success within their respective areas of study, as well as exceptional leadership and citizenship to the Ringling community.”

“Since the inception of the Trustee Scholar awards over two decades ago, we have seen our award recipients and their classmates go on to achieve unparalleled success and make valued contributions personally and professionally to their fields,” continues Dr. Thompson.  “We take great pride in recognizing our Trustee Scholars in their senior year as they prepare for their futures as drivers of our new creative economy and leaders of the ‘Capitol of Creativity.’”

Every year, the Ringling College of Art and Design Board of Trustees awards the Trustee Scholarship to the students who best illustrate dedication, originality, ambition and talent in their field of study. In addition to the extraordinary recognition, Trustee Scholars also receive a $5,000 monetary award, funded by the Ringling College Board of Trustees.

The 2016 Ringling College of Art and Design Trustee Scholars are:

ELLEN ARNOLD - Computer Animation
PAIGE BAUER - Business of Art and Design
STACEY D’ANDELET - Graphic Design
KHOA DUONG - Photography and Imaging
KYLE LEICHT - Student Life
TESS MESSINA - Interior Design
JUN CHENG ROBSON TAN - Advertising Design
ROBIN THOMPSON - Illustration

Trustee Scholars were nominated by the head of each academic department as well as the Office of Student Life. Trustee Scholar nominees were forwarded to the Board of Trustees for final selection, based on: Exceptional talent and distinction of mind; contribution to the department, college, and community; and continued demonstration of leadership, citizenship, and mentorship.

PHOTO: Front Row, Left to Right: Ellen Arnold, Kyle Leich, Celia Nogales, Khoa Duy Duong, Stacey D’Andelet, Paige Bauer and Jun Cheng Robson Tan.  Back Row, Left to Right: Philip Gleichauf, Griffin Goodman, Nick Marten, Tess Messina, Robin Thompson and Jake Wojenski.
Photo by Matthew Holler