Daytime Emmy Awards Presented In Los Angeles
May 2, 2016

Daytime Emmy Awards Presented In Los Angeles

LOS ANGELES — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 43rd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards on Sunday, May 1st, during a grand gala held at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel and Suites in downtown Los Angeles. 
Sonia Manzano, who has played Maria on Sesame Street for 40-plus years, was honored for lifetime achievement. The show included appearances by Larry King (Larry King Now), Rita Moreno (EGOT winner), Mario Lopez (Extra), Nancy O’Dell and Kevin Frazier (ET), Chris Harrison (Who Wants to Be a Millionaire), Sandra Lee (Emmy Award winning Culinary Host), Julie Chen, Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osbourne, Aisha Tyler, and Sheryl Underwood (The Talk), Dr. Mehmet Oz (Dr. Oz), Daphne Oz and Carla Hall (The Chew), Brandon McMillan (Lucky Dog), Shemar Moore (Criminal Minds), Dr. Andrew Ordon and Dr. Jennifer Ashton (The Doctors), Brooke Burns (The Chase), Kristos Andrews (The Bay), Van Hansis (Eastsiders), Matt Doran (Crime Watch), as well as Tamera Mowry-Housley, Jeannie Mae, Loni Love, Tamar Braxton, Adrienne Bailon (The Real). 

The Daytime Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and were presented to individuals and programs broadcast that aired from 2:00am to 6:00pm during the 2015 calendar year. NATAS membership consists of over 15,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. 

General Hospital led the list of winners with five awards. The Bold and the Beautiful, Days of Our Lives, and SuperLatina with Gaby Natale each received two awards. CBS’s The Price is Right, was honored as Outstanding Game Show and CBS Sunday Morning took home the award for Outstanding Morning Program.

ABC’s The Chew was recognized for Outstanding Talk Show/Informative and The Talk won for Outstanding Talk Show/Entertainment. Extra was honored with the Emmy for Outstanding Entertainment News Program.

For the complete list of winners, download the PDF here.