International Cinematographers Guild Reveals Special Awards Recipients
September 25, 2014

International Cinematographers Guild Reveals Special Awards Recipients

LOS ANGELES – The International Cinematographers Guild  (ICG, IATSE Local 600) has announced the recipients of special awards as part of the ICG’s Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA).  

The special awards will be presented during the ECA opening event at the American Society of Cinematographers Clubhousein Los Angeles on September 26. The 18th annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards ceremony will be held at the Directors Guild of America Theater on September 28, where actress Stefanie Powers will be a guest speaker.

The Canon Award for Excellence in Cinematography Technology will be presented to Codex. The company designs and manufactures high-end digital equipment for motion picture and television production, including the Codex Onboard S and Codex Onboard M recorders which enable the Canon EOS C500 to capture 4K Cinema RAW at up to 120 fps. Marc Dando, President of Codex, will accept the award on the company’s behalf.

Michael Goi, ASCwill receive the Kodak Cinematography Mentor of the Year award. He conducts seminars at Cal State Northridge, the Maine Photographic Workshop, at his alma mater Columbia College and at the ICG. Goi has been nominated for three Primetime Emmy Awards for American Horror Story, Glee and My Name is Earl. He is past president of the ASC.

The Technicolor Cinematography Journalist of the Year will be presented to John Bailey, ASC. He is known for his cinematography on Groundhog Day and As Good As It Gets. He was cinematographer for two 2014 movies, The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, starring the late Robin Williams, and The Forger, starring John Travolta. A Walk in the Woods, starring Robert Redford and Emma Thompson, is in post production. Panavision's AWZ2, an anamorphic wide-angle zoom lens, is nicknamed "the Bailey zoom" because Bailey was among the first cinematographers to ask the company to develop such a lens. He is vice president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

ProfessorJudy Irola, ASC, the Conrad Hall Chair of Cinematography at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts, will receive the Nat Tiffen Award for Excellence in Cinematography Education. Her very first feature as a cinematographer was Northern Lights, which won the Camera d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival in 1979. An Ambush of Ghosts garnered her the Cinematography Award, Dramatic Competition at the 1993 Sundance Film Festival. She has photographed 17 independent feature films and more than 40 documentaries throughout the world.