114 Original Scores in Oscar Race
December 13, 2013

114 Original Scores in Oscar Race

BEVERLY HILLS, CA — One hundred fourteen scores from eligible feature-length motion pictures released in 2013 are in contention for nominations in the Original Score category for the 86th Oscars, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced.

The eligible scores along with their composers are listed below, in alphabetical order by film title:

  1. "Admission," Stephen Trask, composer
  2. "Ain't Them Bodies Saints," Daniel Hart, composer
  3. "All Is Lost," Alex Ebert, composer
  4. "Alone Yet Not Alone," William Ross, composer
  5. "The Armstrong Lie," David Kahne, composer
  6. "Arthur Newman," Nick Urata, composer
  7. "At Any Price," Dickon Hinchliffe, composer
  8. "Austenland," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
  9. "Before Midnight," Graham Reynolds, composer
  10. "The Best Man Holiday," Stanley Clarke, composer
  11. "The Book Thief," John Williams, composer
  12. "The Butterfly's Dream," Rahman Altin, composer
  13. "The Call," John Debney, composer
  14. "Captain Phillips," Henry Jackman, composer
  15. "Closed Circuit," Joby Talbot, composer
  16. "The Company You Keep," Cliff Martinez, composer
  17. "The Conjuring," Joseph Bishara, composer
  18. "Copperhead," Laurent Eyquem, composer
  19. "The Counselor," Daniel Pemberton, composer
  20. "The Croods," Alan Silvestri, composer
  21. "Despicable Me 2," Heitor Pereira, composer
  22. "Elysium," Ryan Amon, composer
  23. "Ender's Game," Steve Jablonsky, composer
  24. "Enough Said," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
  25. "Epic," Danny Elfman, composer
  26. "Ernest & Celestine," Vincent Courtois, composer
  27. "Escape from Planet Earth," Aaron Zigman, composer
  28. "Escape from Tomorrow," Abel Korzeniowski, composer
  29. "Evil Dead," Roque Baños, composer
  30. "47 Ronin," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
  31. "42," Mark Isham, composer
  32. "Free Birds," Dominic Lewis, composer
  33. "Free China: The Courage to Believe," Tony Chen, composer
  34. "Fruitvale Station," Ludwig Goransson, composer
  35. "G.I. Joe: Retaliation," Henry Jackman, composer
  36. "Gangster Squad," Steve Jablonsky, composer
  37. "Gravity," Steven Price, composer
  38. "The Great Gatsby," Craig Armstrong, composer
  39. "The Hangover Part III," Christophe Beck, composer
  40. "Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters," Atli Örvarsson, composer
  41. "Haute Cuisine," Gabriel Yared, composer
  42. "Her," William Butler and Owen Pallett, composers
  43. "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug," Howard Shore, composer
  44. "Hollywood Seagull," Evgeny Shchukin, composer
  45. "Hours," Benjamin Wallfisch, composer
  46. "How Sweet It Is," Matt Dahan, composer
  47. "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire," James Newton Howard, composer
  48. "Identity Thief," Christopher Lennertz, composer
  49. "The Incredible Burt Wonderstone," Lyle Workman, composer
  50. "Insidious: Chapter 2," Joseph Bishara, composer
  51. "Instructions Not Included," Carlo Siliotto, composer
  52. "The Internship," Christophe Beck, composer
  53. "The Invisible Woman," Ilan Eshkeri, composer
  54. "Iron Man 3," Brian Tyler, composer
  55. "Jack the Giant Slayer," John Ottman, composer
  56. "Jobs," John Debney, composer
  57. "Kamasutra 3D," Sreejith Edavana and Saachin Raj Chelory, composers
  58. "Labor Day," Rolfe Kent, composer
  59. "Lee Daniels' The Butler," Rodrigo Leão, composer
  60. "Live at the Foxes Den," Jack Holmes, composer
  61. "Love Is All You Need," Johan Söderqvist, composer
  62. "Mama," Fernando Velázquez, composer
  63. "Man of Steel," Hans Zimmer, composer
  64. "Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom," Alex Heffes, composer
  65. "The Missing Picture," Marc Marder, composer
  66. "Monsters University," Randy Newman, composer
  67. "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," Atli Örvarsson, composer
  68. "Mud," David Wingo, composer
  69. "Murph: The Protector," Chris Irwin and Jeff Widenhofer, composers
  70. "Now You See Me," Brian Tyler, composer
  71. "Oblivion," Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese, composers
  72. "Oldboy," Roque Baños, composer
  73. "Olympus Has Fallen," Trevor Morris, composer
  74. "Oz The Great and Powerful," Danny Elfman, composer
  75. "Pacific Rim," Ramin Djawadi, composer
  76. "Pain & Gain," Steve Jablonsky, composer
  77. "Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters," Andrew Lockington, composer
  78. "Philomena," Alexandre Desplat, composer
  79. "The Place beyond the Pines," Mike Patton, composer
  80. "Planes," Mark Mancina, composer
  81. "Prisoners," Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
  82. "R.I.P.D.," Christophe Beck, composer
  83. "Reaching for the Moon," Marcelo Zarvos, composer
  84. "Romeo & Juliet," Abel Korzeniowski, composer
  85. "Runner Runner," Christophe Beck, composer
  86. "Rush," Hans Zimmer, composer
  87. "Safe Haven," Deborah Lurie, composer
  88. "Salinger," Lorne Balfe, composer
  89. "Saving Mr. Banks," Thomas Newman, composer
  90. "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty," Theodore Shapiro, composer
  91. "Short Term 12," Joel P. West, composer
  92. "Side Effects," Thomas Newman, composer
  93. "The Smurfs 2," Heitor Pereira, composer
  94. "The Spectacular Now," Rob Simonsen, composer
  95. "Star Trek Into Darkness," Michael Giacchino, composer
  96. "Stoker," Clint Mansell, composer
  97. "Thor: The Dark World," Brian Tyler, composer
  98. "Tim's Vermeer," Conrad Pope, composer
  99. "Trance," Rick Smith, composer
  100. "Turbo," Henry Jackman, composer
  101. "12 Years a Slave," Hans Zimmer, composer
  102. "2 Guns," Clinton Shorter, composer
  103. "The Ultimate Life," Mark McKenzie, composer
  104. "Unfinished Song," Laura Rossi, composer
  105. "Wadjda," Max Richter, composer
  106. "Walking with Dinosaurs," Paul Leonard-Morgan, composer
  107. "Warm Bodies," Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
  108. "We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks," Will Bates, composer
  109. "We're the Millers," Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Goransson, composers
  110. "What Maisie Knew," Nick Urata, composer
  111. "Why We Ride," Steven Gutheinz, composer
  112. "The Wind Rises," Joe Hisaishi, composer
  113. "Winnie Mandela," Laurent Eyquem, composer
  114. "The Wolverine," Marco Beltrami, composer

A Reminder List of works submitted in the Original Score category will be made available with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who shall vote in the order of their preference for not more than five achievements. The five achievements receiving the highest number of votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award.

To be eligible, the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer. Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.

The 86th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, January 16, 2014, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.