Student Oscar Nominees Announced
May 14, 2012

Student Oscar Nominees Announced

BEVERLY HILLS — Thirty-five students from 20 US colleges and universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. 
Academy members will view the finalists’ films at special screenings and vote to select the winners. Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with accompanying cash grants of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000 respectively, may be presented in each of four categories: Alternative, Animation, Documentary and Narrative. 

Winners will be brought to Los Angeles, along with the international student winners in the Foreign Student Film category, for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. 

The finalists are:
- "Falconer," Micah  Robert Barber, University of Texas at Austin
-  "In Between Shadows,"  Tianran Duan, University of Southern California
-  "Last Remarks," Umar  Riaz, New York University
- "Peace at Home,"  Avital Epstein, Florida State University
- "The Reality Clock," Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California
- "SiSiSiSiSiSiSiSiSiSiSi," Juan Camilo González, University of Southern California
- "Terra Cotta Warrior,"  Bin Li, Rochester Institute of Technology
- "Us," Alex Lora, City College  of New York 

- "Chocolate Milk,"  Eliza Kinkz, University of California, Los Angeles
- "Cowboy, Clone, Dust," Matthew Christensen, New York University
- "Eyrie," David Wolter,  California Institute of the Arts
- "The Jockstrap Raiders," Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles
- "La Lune et le Coq,"  Raymond McCarthy Bergeron, Rochester Institute of Technology
- "Lizard and the Ladder," Aaron Bristow, Utah Valley University*
- "My Little Friend," Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design
- "Reviving Redwood," Matt Sullivan, Ringling College of Art and Design
- "Shinobi Blues," Yue Liu, School of Visual Arts 

- "Dignity Harbor: A Home Away from Homeless," Michael Gualdoni, Lindenwood University*
- "Dying Green," Ellen Tripler, American University
- "Hiro: A Story of  Japanese Internment," Keiko Wright, New York University
- "Lost Country," Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville*
- "Love Hacking," Jenni Nelson, Stanford University
- "Pot Country," Mario Furloni, University of California, Berkeley
- "Reporting on The Times: The New York Times and the Holocaust," Emily Harrold, New York  University
- "Smoke Songs," Briar  March, Stanford University
- "Why Am I Still Alive," Hanzhang Shen, School of Visual Arts 

- "Benny," Huay-Bing  Law, University of Texas at Austin
- "Contra el Mar," Richard Parkin, University of California, Los Angeles
- "Hatch," Christoph  Kuschnig, Columbia University
- "Mr. Bellpond," A. Todd Smith, Brigham Young University
- "Nani," Justin Tipping, American Film Institute
- "Narcocorrido," Ryan Prows, American Film Institute
- "The Recorder Exam,"  Bora Kim, Columbia University
- "Requited," Madeline Puzzo, Point Park University*
- "Under," Mark Raso, Columbia University 

The 39th Annual  Student Academy Awards ceremony is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are available now, online at