Student Foreign Film Nominees Announced
April 24, 2012

Student Foreign Film Nominees Announced

BEVERLY HILLS — Five finalists, selected from 51 entries representing 29 countries, will advance in the Foreign Film category in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards competition.
Up to three winners will be selected from this group and brought to Los Angeles to join US-based  Student Academy Award winners for a week of industry activities and social events. The festivities will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9, at 6pm at the Academy’s Samuel  Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. 

The following is an alphabetical list of 2012 Foreign Films:

- “Emily,” Benjamin  Mathews, Australian Film Television and Radio School, Australia

- “For Elsie,” David Winstone, University of  Westminster, United Kingdom

- “Of Dogs and  Horses,” Thomas Stuber, Film Academy Baden-Wüerttemberg, Germany

- “Skyborn,” Jamie Stone, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

- “The Swing of the Coffin Maker,” Elmar Imanov, The International Film School Cologne, Germany 

Several past winners in the Foreign Film competition have gone on to earn further recognition from the Academy. At the 84th Academy Awards earlier this year, 2011 Student Academy Award winners Hallvar Witzø and Max  Zähle were nominated in the Live Action Short Film category for “Tuba Atlantic” and “Raju,” respectively.  The 2010 Foreign Film award winner, Tanel Toom, was a nominee at the 83rd Academy Awards  in the Live Action Short Film category for “The Confession.” At the 75th Academy Awards, student winner  Martin Strange-Hansen of Denmark won the Oscar in the Live Action Short Film category for “This Charming Man (Der Er En Yndig  Mand).”  He had won the Foreign Film award that same year (2002) with “Feeding Desire.” 

The 39th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony is open to the public, but advance tickets are required (