International 3D Society Names Lenny Lipton Century Award Winner for Lifetime Achievement
February 3, 2011

International 3D Society Names Lenny Lipton Century Award Winner for Lifetime Achievement

Los Angeles, Calif. - The International 3D Society announced that Lenny Lipton will be receiving the Society’s Century Award for Lifetime Achievement at its 2nd Annual 3D Creative Arts Awards Show on Feb. 9. The award will be presented by Jon Landau.
Lenny Lipton founded StereoGraphics International in 1980 and was the CTO of Real D. He has been granted 50 patents with roughly 50 more pending. In 1996, Lenny received a Smithsonian award for his invention of CrystalEyes, the first shuttering eyewear product for stereoscopic displays. Lipton also invented the ZScreen and created the first flicker-free, field-sequential 3D display technology, the basis for much of stereoscopic cinema and TV. In addition, Lenny has written four books and is a Fellow of the SMPTE and SPIE. At Cornell, he wrote Puff the Magic Dragon. He lives with his wife, three children, and Snowy the wonder dog.

Buzz Hays, chairman for the International 3D Society and executive stereoscopic 3D producer at the Sony 3D Technology Center, Sony Corporation of America, remarked: “Lenny has been a true pioneer in the booming industry of 3D and he has been a great addition to the International 3D Society.”

“Lenny Lipton has spent his life imagining 3D's potential and then inventing it," says Jim Chabin, president and CEO of the International 3D Society.

The Society's 2nd Annual Creative Arts Awards will be held at Grauman's Chinese Theatre in Hollywood. The ceremony will honor the year's best 3D movies, television shows, videogames, and advertising, as voted by the Society's membership.

International 3D Society underwriters include Signature Sponsor Panasonic Corporation and Founding Sponsors, Dolby Laboratories, DreamWorks Animation (DWA), IMAX, MasterImage 3D, Panasonic Hollywood Lab, PIXAR, Sony Corporation of America, The Walt Disney Studios, and XPAND. Member Sponsors are Autodesk, DirecTV, Discovery Communications, and Quantel.