Adobe Celebrates Winners of 10th Annual Design Achievement Awards
October 26, 2010

Adobe Celebrates Winners of 10th Annual Design Achievement Awards

Los Angeles, Calif. – Adobe Systems Incorporated announced the winners of its 10th annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA), celebrating global student achievements that bring technology and the creative arts together. The awards honor the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from the world’s top higher- education institutions. Since the ADAAs began in 2001, close to 20,000 students across 52 countries have participated in this competition.

“The Adobe Design Achievement Award competition attracts the best student designers in the world. We feel fortunate to be able to shine a light on these future creative leaders,” said Ann Lewnes, senior vice president of corporate marketing, Adobe.

For the second consecutive year, Adobe has collaborated with Icograda, International Council of Graphic Design Associations, to attract student submissions from the Icograda Education Network, and select an international panel of design experts to judge the awards.

“The students have done things that are so fresh and innovative because they are pushing the technology and the software is allowing them to do things they couldn’t have done before,” said judge Meg Barbour, principal at The Barbour Shop.

Renowned designer, Stefan Bucher, served as the Master of Ceremonies during last night’s ceremony at the Regal Cinemas Premiere House in Los Angeles, California. Winners were recognized in 12 categories across interactive media, film and motion and traditional media:
• Browser-Based Design—Tiago Cabaco, “Case Study: Kalvika,” Academy of Art University, United States
• Non-Browser Based Design—Anthony Mattox, “Pulsus,” Maryland Institute College of Art, United States
• Application Development—Andrew Mahon and Zeke Shore, “VoxPop,” Parsons The New School for Design, United States
• Mobile Design—Laura Bordin,”Heart Lift,” IUAV University of Venice, Italy
• Installation Design—a team led by Marco Werner, “Buchmesse 2009,” Dortmund University of Applied Science, Germany
• Animation—Napatsawan Chirayukool, “What Makes Your Day?,” Kingston University, United Kingdom
• Live Action—Victor Aloji,“Ad Against Child Sexual Abuse,” Hamburger Technische Kunstschule, Germany
• Motion Graphics—Edeline Bernal, “29,” York University/Sheridan College, Canada
• Illustration—Soonkyu Jang, “World Championship 2010,” Dankook, Korea
• Packaging—Linna Xu, “Ilford Film,” York University/Sheridan College, Canada
• Photography—Natalia Luzenko, “To Wait and See,” Fachhochschule Wuerzburg-Schweinfurt, Germany
• Print Communications— Chiharu Tanaka, “MONYO+MOJI,” Academy of Art University, United States

The winning entries can be viewed at ADAA Gallery (, along with the 2010 finalists and those who have placed and won over the previous nine years. Winners were selected by a global panel of industry judges based on originality, effectiveness in meeting the communication objectives outlined for each submission category, and contestant(s) skills in applying Adobe products.

Judges include: Meg Barbour (United States), principal/“first chair” at The Barbour Shop, a renowned post-production shop for TV, film, Web and mobile; Steve Cornwell (Australia), CEO of brand identity company, Cornwell Design; Diego Marini (France), Accelerated Solution Environment network graphic designer and art director; Bruno Porto (Brazil), graphic designer, educator and consultant; Kevin Slavin (United States), managing director and co-founder of Area/Code, creators of cross-media games and entertainment; Erik Spiekermann (Germany), creative director of Edenspiekermann and former ambassador for the European Year of Creativity and Innovation; and Lawrence Zeegen, head of school of communication design, Kingston University (United Kingdom).

“It’s very important for design education to be engaged and involved in producing the kind of graduates who are going to change perceptions within the design industry—ones who will rock boats, rather than row boats and those who will continue to move the industry forward,” said judge Zeegen, head of school of communication design, Kingston University.

All individual and leaders of the group category winners received a US$3,000 cash prize, a winner’s certificate, a 3D award, a copy of Adobe Creative Suite 5 Master Collection software (individual winner) or his/her choice of either Creative Suite 5 Design Premium, Creative Suite 5 Web Premium or Creative Suite 5 Production Premium education version software (group winner). Individual winners and team captains will also receive a one-year mentorship with a design leader from the Icograda network and may be appointed to the Icograda Youth Advisory Panel.