Adobe Reveals 2009 Design Achievement Award Winners
November 3, 2009

Adobe Reveals 2009 Design Achievement Award Winners

San Jose, Calif. - Adobe Systems Inc. has announced the winners of the ninth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA), recognized as one of the world’s most prestigious student design and film competitions. The awards, which took place at the Icograda World Design Congress 2009 in Beijing, honor the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from renowned higher education institutions around the globe. This year the program received a record-breaking number of submissions totaling more than 3,300 from students in 37 countries.
“The Adobe Design Achievement Awards provides students worldwide with the opportunity to express their enormous creativity and showcase their work among some of the world’s top designers,” said Ann Lewnes, senior vice president of corporate marketing at Adobe. “The body of work that these students produce is truly inspiring.”

“This year’s ADAA submissions were a powerful collection,” said ADAA judge Lance Wyman. “As the language of communication design is evolving and the cross-pollination of designer skill sets is flourishing, it’s uplifting to see students produce high-quality work that creatively conceptualize ideas and solutions. The competition demonstrated the global phenomenon that technology and the creative arts enable designers in different cultures to effectively solve similar problems or tell similar stories while still retaining their own individuality.”

In a ceremony last night at Beijing’s National Centre of Performing Arts, winners were recognized for their achievements in 12 categories:
· Animation: a team led by David Prosser of the Royal College of Art in London.
· Application Design: Bryan Berger of Full Sail University in Winter Park, Fla.
· Browser-based Design: a team led by Jayheun Kyum of Hongik University in Korea.
· Illustration: Joerg Block of Hamburg University of Applied Sciences in Germany.
· Installation Design: a team led by Margherita Rubini of Università IUAV di Venezia in Italy.
· Live Action: Varathit Uthaisri of Parsons New School for Design in New York City.
· Mobile Design: a team led by Marc Oßwald of University of Applied Sciences Swabian Gmund in Germany.
· Motion Graphics: David Harper of Indiana University in Bloomington, Ind.
· Non-Browser-based Design: a team led by Jared Weinstock of Drexel University in Philadelphia.
· Packaging: a team led by Adam Paterson of Royal College of Art in London.
· Photography: a team led by Barnaby Coote of Gobelins in France.
· Print Communications: a team led by Jiwon Park of Ewha Woman's University, and Chung-ang University in Korea.

The winning entries can now be viewed at <> . Winners were selected by a global panel of industry judges based on their originality and effectiveness in meeting the project’s communication objectives and the contestants’ skills in applying Adobe products specified in their entries. Judges include Leimei Julia Chui (Japan), Louis Gagnon (Canada), Cristina Chiappini (Italy), Garth Walker (South Africa), Tarek Atrissi (The Netherlands), Kyle Kim (Korea) and Lance Wyman (United States).