December 12, 2008

Seventh-annual VES Awards Announced

Beverly Hills, Calif. - On behalf of honorary dinner chair Steven Spielberg, the Visual Effects Society (VES) invites support of the seventh-annual VES Awards on Saturday, February 21, 2009 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.
The 2008 VES Awards will honor Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall of Kennedy/Marshall with the VES Lifetime Achievement Award. Given last year to Steven Spielberg, this award honors Marshall's and Kennedy's individual and collective body of work as Hollywood's producers who have produced many iconic films over the past 30 years. Their most recent work includes The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

Founder of Tippett Studio and two-time Academy Award and Emmy winner, Phil Tippett will receive the Georges Melies Award for Pioneering. Tippett has contributed to significant visual effects to more than 60 feature films and commercials of multiple genres.

The VES will present awards in 26 visual effects categories.