March 13, 2007

Seventh Annual Game Developers Choice Awards Honor Gears of War, Okami, and Wii Sports

San Francisco - Epic Games and Microsoft Game Studios’ Xbox 360 shooter Gears of War was the recipient of three honors, including Best Game, at the seventh annual Game Developers Choice Awards. The game also received the awards for Technology and Visual Arts. 
Winning two awards each were Clover Studios and Capcom Entertainment’s Okami and Nintendo’s Wii Sports. The ceremony, produced and hosted by the Game Developers Conference (GDC) and presented by the International Game Developers Association (IGDA), is the only peer-based, open-nomination awards program in the industry where honors are bestowed to developers by developers. Recipients were announced at the 2007 Game Developers Conference (GDC) in San Francisco.  

 “A Game Developers Choice Award is like no other award presented in our industry, as it is the only prize that gives the community the chance to appreciate and honor individual developers,” says Jamil Moledina, executive director of the Game Developers Conference. “By celebrating our visionaries by name, we give the audience and the public at large a chance to give credit where credit is due.”  

Nominations were free of charge and open to all IGDA members, ensuring that the nominees reflect the international development community's opinions. The IGDA membership voted on the finalists.  

The recipients for the seventh annual Game Developers Choice Awards are:  

Best Game  

Gears of War

(Epic Games / Microsoft Game Studios) - Cliff Bleszinski, Michael Capps, Rod Fergusson  


Guitar Hero II (Harmonix Music Systems / RedOctane) - Jeff Allen, Eric Brosius, Izzy Maxwell  

Character Design  

Ōkami (Clover Studio / Capcom Entertainment) - Mari Shimazaki, Sawaki Takeyasu, Kenichirou Yoshimura

Game Design  

Wii Sports (Nintendo) - Keizo Ohta, Takayuki Shimamura, Yoshiaki Yamashita  


Gears of War (Epic Games / Microsoft Game Studios) - Michael Capps, Ray Davis, Tim Sweeney, Daniel Vogel   Visual Arts   Gears of War (Epic Games / Microsoft Game Studios) - Jerry O'Flaherty, Chris Perna Writing  

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (Nintendo EAD / Nintendo) - Kyogoku Aya, Nate Bihldorff, Mitsuhiro Takano  

New Studio  

Iron Lore Entertainment (Titan Quest) - Paul Chieffo, Jeff Goodsill, Brian Sullivan  


Line Rider - Boštjan Cadež  

Ōkami (Clover Studio / Capcom Entertainment) - Atsushi Inaba, Hideki Kamiya

Wii Sports (Nintendo) - Keizo Ohta, Takayuki Shimamura, Yoshiaki Yamashita  

Recipients for the evening's special awards were:  

Lifetime Achievement

Shigeru Miyamoto  

First Penguin
Alexey Pajitnov  


Greg Costikyan  

Community Contribution

George “The Fat Man” Sanger  

"Once again, the Game Developers Choice Awards have shown that gaming greatness can be found within every type of game -- from the most hardcore of experiences, to those that have brought all new audiences into our industry’s fan base," says Jason Della Rocca, executive director, IGDA. “Each year, I am humbled by what our members can do with this great art form.”