Portfolio - Adobe Design Contest
Issue: Volume: 29 Issue: 12 (Dec 2006)

Portfolio - Adobe Design Contest

Interactive Category: Images from projects by (from top to bottom) finalist Sam Smelter, University of Wisconsin; finalist Filip Olszewski, Rhode Island School of Design; winner Janina Boesch, Rhode Island School of Design.

Live-Action Category: Images from projects by (top to bottom) winner Karolina Novitska, Massachusetts College of Art; finalist Brian Wee, Art Center College of Design; finalist Matthew Murdoch, Royal College of Art.

Oftentimes we hear the comment that the future lies in the hands of our youth. This observation is proven time and time again by those studying computer graphics and design—and this has not gone unnoticed by software and hardware vendors that have come to recognize the accomplishments of these future innovators.

One such vendor, Adobe, celebrates student achievement reflecting the convergence of technology and the creative arts through its Design Achievement Awards. "Honoring the top students in the creative arts is part of Adobe’s commitment to design and film education, and to the creative professional market," says Melissa Dyrdahl, senior VP of marketing and communications. "Winners of an Adobe Design Achievement Award have the opportunity to gain exposure to the creative community, jumpstart their careers in the creative arts, and showcase their talents at industry events such as Sundance."

This year’s contest was open to students enrolled in visual arts programs at accredited institutions of higher education in the US and many other countries. The submissions had to be original works created primarily with Adobe or Macromedia software. Individuals and groups were encouraged to enter projects in one of nine categories. Judging was done by a handful of industry leaders in their respective fields.

Winners in the animation, live-action, motion design, and interactive categories, respectively, include: Keng-Ming Liu from the School of Visual Arts in New York; Karolina Novitska from Massachusetts College of Art in Boston; Howard Hao-An Tsai from the Art Center College of Design; and Janina Boesch from Rhode Island School of Design.

A sampling of images from those students and the finalists appears on these two pages. Additional images can be found on www.cgw.com. —Karen Moltenbrey

Motion Graphics Category: Images from projects by (top to bottom) finalist Steven Baughman, Parsons School of Design; fi nalist Jonathon Corbiere, Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning; winner Howard Hao-An Tsai, Art Center College of Design.

Animation Category: Images from projects by (from top to bottom) finalist Sunha Yoon, California Institute of the Arts; winner Keng-Ming Liu, School of Visual Arts; fi nalist Stephen Neary, New York University.