Fields Narrowed in Producers Guild Awards Competition

Category: News
Nominations for the 25th annual Producers Guild Awards for motion pictures and long-form television were announced Thursday, including those for best motion picture and best animated film.

Not surprising, many Oscar contenders can be found on the PGA's list of films.

The Producers Guild of America represents more than 5,900 members who work in film, television and new media.

Winners of the Producers Guild Awards will be announced on January 19. In addition, the special awards will be given to: producers Barbara Broccoli & Michael G. Wilson, Robert Iger, Peter Jackson & Joe Letteri,  Chuck Lorre, and Chris Meledandri. The Stanley Kramer Award will be presented to the producers of "Fruitvale Station."

Nominees for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Theatrical Motion Picture:

  • "American Hustle" (Megan Ellison, Jon Gordon, Charles Roven, Richard Suckle)
  • "Blue Jasmine" (Letty Aronson, Stephen Tenenbaum)
  • "Captain Phillips" (Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin)
  • "Dallas Buyers Club" (Robbie Brenner, Rachel Winter)
  • "Gravity" (Alfonso Cuaron, David Heyman)
  • "Her"(Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze, Vincent Landay)
  • "Nebraska" (Albert Berger, Ron Yerxa)
  • "Saving Mr. Banks" (Ian Collie, Alison Owen, Philip Steuer)
  • "12 Years a Slave" (Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner)
  • "The Wolf of Wall Street" (Riza Aziz, Emma Koskoff, Joey McFarland)

Nominees for Best Animated Theatrical Motion Picture:

  • "The Croods" (Kristine Belson, Jane Hartwell)
  • "Despicable Me 2" (Janet Healy, Chris Meledandri)
  • "Epic" (Jerry Davis, Lori Forte)
  • "Frozen" (Peter Del Vecho)
  • "Monsters University" (Kori Rae)

Nominees for the David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Long-Form Television (mini-series or made-for-TV movie):

  • "American Horror Story: Asylum" (FX) (Brad Buecker, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Alexis Martin Woodall, Ryan Murphy, Chip Vucelich)
  • "Behind the Candelabra" (HBO) (Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub)
  • "Killing Kennedy" (National Geographic Channel) (Mary Lisio, Larry Rapaport, Ridley Scott, Teri Weinberg, David W. Zucker)
  • "Phil Spector" (HBO) (Michael Hausman, Barry Levinson)
  • "Top of the Lake" (Sundance Channel) (Philippa Campbell, Jane Campion, Iain Canning, Emile Sherman)

Nominees for documentary films and various television categories had already been announced.

Other News

SUNY New Paltz Given 'SMART Lab' Designation
Former Digital Domain CEO Joins Deluxe
Jon Neill Heading Up LRC At Axis Animation
Sony Pictures Animation Reveals Upcoming Lineup
More News Headlines
E-Newsletter Signup
Keep up with the latest CG industry news by subscribing to the CGW newsletter, produced bimonthly with special editions throughout the year. Join Our E-mail List Now!
Most Read